Motor Vehicles

The following can now be done on the Georgia Motor Vehicle Division's new e-service site called DRIVES:

                                        • Pre-Apply for Vehicle Title & Registration
                                        • Vehicle Tag Renewals
                                        • Vehicle Tag Cancellations
                                        • Address Change
                                        • Calculate TAVT (Title Fee)

For further information regarding vehicle registration please visit the State of Georgia Motor Vehicle Division website.

    • New residents must register their vehicles within thirty days of establishing residency in Georgia.  A Georgia Driver’s License must be obtained before registering your vehicle.
    • Out-of-state titles must be surrendered and transferred to Georgia titles (year models 1985 and older are not required to be titled in Georgia).  If there is a lien on the vehicle and you do not have the title, we must have the current registration and name and address of the lien holder.  Additionally leased vehicles require a power of attorney from the leasing company.
    • Georgia liability insurance is required to be transmitted to the state’s data base by your insurance company in order to register your vehicle.  The vehicle must be covered by liability insurance at all times or a lapse in coverage penalty will apply.  If you cancel the insurance, you must also cancel the registration.

    • It is the vehicle owner’s responsibility to insure their vehicle is properly registered.

    • The penalty for late registration is 10% of the tax ($5.00 minimum) and 25% of the tag fee. These penalties begin immediately following the due date.
  • Georgia liability insurance is required to be transmitted to the state’s data base by your insurance company in order to register your vehicle. The vehicle must be covered by liability insurance at all times or a lapse in coverage penalty will apply. If you cancel the insurance, you must also cancel the registration.

  • It is the vehicle owner’s responsibility to insure their vehicle is properly registered.

  • The penalty for late registration is 10% of the tax ($5.00 minimum) and 25% of the tag fee. These penalties begin immediately following the due date.
  • Newly purchased vehicles from person to person must be registered within 7 days.

  • A vehicle purchased from a dealership must be registered within 30 days.

  • Effective March 1, 2013, House Bill 386 removed the sales tax and the annual ad valorem tax on newly purchased vehicles. It replaced these taxes with a new title tax of 7% in 2016. This rate can change each year.

  • If you sell a vehicle, you keep your tag. Tags can be transferred to new vehicles that are registered to the same first owner. Proof of title (bill of sale for 1985 and older) is required to purchase a tag or transfer a tag from a vehicle you no longer own.

  • Individual to Individual Sales are required to pay the TAVT upon applying for the title.
    • Truck registrations are renewed by the first letter of the last name of the owner or, in the case of trucks owned by businesses, the first letter of the business name, using the Business Registration Scale below.
    • Renewal registrations are mailed out approximately 30 days before they are due. If you do not receive a bill in the mail, please contact the Tax Commissioner’s Office.
    • Failure to renew your tags will result in the following penalties: 10% of the Ad Valorem tax or $5.00, whichever is greater, and 25% of the tag fee. It is your responsibility to renew at the appropriate time whether you receive a notice in the mail or not.
  Business Registration Scale
January - A B
February - C D
March - E F
April - G H
May - I J
June - K L
July - M N
August - O P
September - Q R
October - S T
November - U V W
December - X Y Z